New York City

I just got back from an amazing trip to New York City for my dads 50th birthday for 5 days and it was brilliant! I had the best time and I thought it would be cool to do a photo centered blog post about my trip.

Day 1

The journey to New York City was very smooth. My family and I live in Birmingham and our flight was from London Heathrow so we did have to drive 2 hours to get there. But, there was hardly any traffic so we arrived with plenty of time to spare before our flight.

IMG_2618[1]

We travelled with British Airways (a company I have never travelled with before) and they were amazing. The service was great we got onto the plane really quickly and were provided with plenty of food, drink and entertainment during the flight.

IMG_2617[1]

We did have a bit of trouble when we got to JFK airport in New York. Getting through security was extremely disorganised and it took us an hour and a half to get through. There were no barriers to organise queues out of the crowds so it was complete chaos. Also we were supposed to have a mini bus there waiting for us to take us to our hotel but it wasn’t there so we had to wait for a further 45 minutes for that.

When we finally got into our mini bus and were on our way to the hotel me and my dad spotted this, which we are pretty sure is from that scene in Men in Black where the cockroach alien is trying to use one of these as a spaceship to get away.

IMG_2621[1]

When we got to our hotel it was amazing. The people were really nice and our room was great! We also found out that the roof of our hotel had an amazing view of New York City, including a great view of the Empire State Building. We took pictures of it during the day and at night.

We also went up the Empire State Building on our first day too, the views were pretty cool.

Day 2

On our second day we got up super early because we had a time slot to go on a ferry to Liberty Island to see the Statue of Liberty! This was probably my favourite day because the statue is such an iconic landmark and I’ve wanted to see it in person for ages. We went all the way up to the crown, which was a LOT of steps and I couldn’t really breathe for a while after. It was awesome though and totally worth it. We also went to the 9/11 memorial and museum on this day but I didn’t take any pictures inside the museum because I personally feel that it’s disrespectful and I also wanted to take it all in.

Day 3

On our third day it was my dads 50th birthday! He wanted to go to the Intrepid museum so that’s what we did! The museum was great, it had a submarine and a massive ship and loads of cool jets and planes. My Dad really enjoyed it. We also went to Times Square on this day which was really cool, we had our dinner in the Hard Rock Cafe there too.

Day 4

This was our last full day so we spent it looking around 5th avenue, doing some shopping and exploring central park. I think this was probably our most chilled day.

Day 5

This day was spent packing, doing some last minute exploring and getting to the airport. We didn’t do too much this day as it was mainly about heading home.

I had a great holiday though, even if it was only short. It was amazing to experience New York City and I’m glad that my Dad had a great 50th and that we went there.

Chlo xx

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

One thought on “New York City

Leave a Reply

